Olympic torch craft

22 May

image

To celebrate the arrival of the Olympic torch in our area I decided that my daughter and I should make our own torch. Explaining the Olympics and the significants of the torch to a toddler is quite tricky but I wanted her to get excited about it and this seemed like a good way to get started.

We used the cardboard tube from some wrapping paper which I cut in half. I initially tried a kitchen roll tube but it didn’t seem long enough. I then made a vertical cut from top to bottom so that I could roll it into the cone shape. I did the same with a shorter roll which I then popped into the top to block up the open side. I just happened to have some gold tissue paper lying around that we used to cover it. Before attaching the gold paper I wanted to give it the spotty effect. In reality of course, these are holes but I didn’t want to complicate matters. I realised that bubble wrap would be ideal for the pattern. So The Limpet got to work on painting the bubble wrap and printing it onto the gold paper.

image

image

The finished effect was pretty amazing and with a bit of orange and yellow tissue paper the torch was ready and alight.

image

And the reason I wanted to put in such an effort was that I knew one of todays torch bearers. It was so exciting to be there amongst the crowd and join in the celebration. I even got to hold the torch (before it was lit!) And The Limpet got to compare her torch to the real thing.

image

image

11 Responses to “Olympic torch craft”

  1. An Everyday Story May 24, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    How exciting for you guys to see the Olympic torch! My dad represented Australia at the Paralympics and was selected to carry the Commonwealth Games torch. I was so very proud of him. The atmosphere over your way must be amazing. I LOVE the Olympic Games!!

    • entertainingmonsters May 24, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

      Wow, good for your dad.
      I have to admit that I’m not much of a sport fan so I haven’t been that excited about the Olympics. But you’re right the atmosphere surrounding the torch relay is amazing and I felt privileged to be part of it.

  2. PinkOddy May 27, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    What a really lovely idea. And such a good torch.

  3. Julie @ Creekside Learning May 28, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Oh my, how exciting that you got to hold the torch. And the one you made with your daughter is beautiful! Thanks for sharing on the Weekly Kids Co-Op.

  4. Kelly Innes (@domesticgoddesq) June 1, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    Such a great easy way to make a torch! love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kid’s Co-Op Link Up – Come & Play - May 31, 2012

    [...] could I not love this Olympic Torch craft by Entertaining [...]

  2. Baby Olympic Torch to Celebrate Relay in Our Home Town Lichfield « RachelCreative - June 30, 2012

    [...] for crafting thanks for the inspiration from Domestic Goddeseque and Vic from Entertaining Monsters Domestic Goddeseque Entertaining Monsters Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditFacebookTwitterEmailLike [...]

  3. Olympic Games: Torches | Make Create Do - July 16, 2012

    [...] Olympic Torch made of Bubble Wrap [...]

  4. Getting into the Olympic Spirit | Living It Little - July 18, 2012

    [...] Make an Olympic torch and have your own torch relay or opening ceremony! This is the sort of thing M will luuurve. [...]

  5. Torch for the Opening Ceremony of the 2012 Games | Rainy Day Mum - July 23, 2012

    [...] Olympic Torch Craft from Entertaining Monsters [...]

  6. 2012 in review « entertaining monsters - January 3, 2013

    [...] Olympic torch craft [...]

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

