Stained glass nativity picture

5 Dec

Today’s Christmas activity was to create a stained glass picture. We love creating these types of artwork. Last Christmas we did stain glass stars and just recently we did stain glass leaves with autumnal coloured tissue paper.

image

This year I wanted to create a nativity scene. I googled some images to get a few ideas and then sketched out my design. When I was happy with the picture I drew it again this time on done black card and cut it out.

image

I then stuck it straight on to some contact paper and The Limpet and I decided on the best colours from our stash of tissue paper. She enjoyed ripping strips of tissue paper and then sticking them all down.

image

image

She was also very keen to help trim off the edges at the end – I reluctantly let her!

image

She was very proud of her work and keen to test out the effect on the window.

image

I also think it looks pretty amazing and was actually relatively easy to make.

image

3 Responses to “Stained glass nativity picture”

  1. Tammy December 5, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    So Fun! We did almost the same activity a few days ago, great minds:) I love that your daughter used strips of tissue paper. http://www.housingaforest.com/stained-glass-nativity/

    • entertainingmonsters December 5, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      Thank you. I actually just saw yours via pinterest and also thought how similar they were.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 in review « entertaining monsters - January 3, 2013

    […] Stained glass nativity […]

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers