Five little speckled frogs

23 Feb

My collection of toilet and kitchen rolls is quickly taking over the whole house but they have so much potential so I hate to throw them out. This activity managed to get through six of them in one go.

The Limpet is only 2 1/2 and therefore still struggles with counting so I thought it would be good to combine a craft activity with a maths lesson. ‘Five little speckled frogs’ is one of our favourite songs so this seemed ideal.

I played around with a few frog prototypes but these seemed the most simple yet recognisable! The top of each toilet roll was squashed together and folded over. I cut the top of the head and eyes from another toilet roll and stuck it on the back. My daughter and I then painted them green all over. Her attention span wasn’t long enough for all five so I helped out.



When they were dry we added googley eyes, a red tongue and of course speckles. These were applied with finger paint and I was keen to take part in this bit too. But as you can see from the pictures, my daughter did a much better job then I did.

7 Responses to “Five little speckled frogs”

  1. justlyd February 28, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Omgosh, I love these!(I have problems throwing away tissue rolls too.):)

  2. Didi {Duck Duck Octopus} February 28, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    These are adorable, and a very clever idea. I’m pinning it to my toilet paper tube pin board. 🙂

    • entertainingmonsters February 28, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Thank you so much and thanks for the pin! I’ll have to check out your board.

  3. Cerys @ Rainy Dya Mum February 28, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    I love this – my son J is frog mad and we have the book of this song and sing the song regularly.

    Thank you for linking up to Tuesday Tots this week and I look forward to seeing you link you again in the future

  4. Toddler Approved March 2, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    So adorable. I have a similar cupboard with too much cardboard spilling out of it. These little froggies are adorable!

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers

