The joy of playdough

23 Apr

I’ve read a number of blog post about how great playdough is and how children play with it endlessly. Up until recently I had not been at all convinced and neither had The Limpet.
I have always got the playdough out and then given her the usual tools – plastic knife, plastic scissors, plastic cookie cutters etc. She would play for a while, particularly if I also sat and made things with her, but she has never seemed that enthralled by it. That was until I gave her some natural items to use with the playdough. With the help of some pebbles, shells, sticks and pine cones she was entertained for ages.

image

This brightly coloured shop bought playdough was a gift. Before we were given this I had started making my own and intend to do so again. The homemade version feels so much better.

I’ve also been reading a lot lately about the benefits of ‘loose parts’ in children’s play. This was a great example to me and I’m slowly beginning to realise that children play best when they are given materials (generally natural ones) that allow for open ended play.

5 Responses to “The joy of playdough”

  1. melbrammer April 24, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I love this! My 2 1/2 year old loves playdough and gets quite creative with it using both cutters to make 2D shapes or just hands and tools to make 3D creations. I love the idea of adding more stuff to encourage different experimenting. I’ve been inspired and might try: glitter and ‘jewels’; pinecones and acorns and sticks; buttons; etc.

  2. featheredneststudio April 26, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Great post! I love that you incorporated sticks and pinecones etc. My son will love that idea.

    We’ve made our own playdough and it is wonderful! The texture is so much smoother to work with. I love that you can make it any colour you want, plus you can add in scents (like peppermint or vanilla extract) for a whole sensory experience. (Love your blog, too! I just hit the follow button.)

    • entertainingmonsters April 26, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      Great, thanks. I’ve never tried adding scents before but definitely will next time I make it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Loose parts play « entertaining monsters - May 3, 2012

    […] I have read about the benefits of using loose parts in outdoor play but it can also be used on all aspects of play as I discovered when we were using playdough. […]

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers

