Bottle top posting

30 Apr

My son’s current love is putting items inside things and taking them out again. Last week he decided to throw something down the toilet for the first time. Unfortunately that thing was my husbands mobile phone!

To encourage his new hobby (and save any more toilet dramas) I decided to make him his own posting box. I’ve been saving milk bottle tops for a while and thought they would be idea to post through small gaps. Small enough to develop fine motor skills but not so small as to be a choking risk.

I used a smallish box and cut a number of slits into it on both sides, some vertical and some horizontal. This took me about two minutes maximum.

The Gannet started posting his bottle tops without any instructions. When he managed to get the first one through he peered into the hole wondering where it had gone. I left the top of the box open so that he could easily find all the bottle tops again and empty them out.

image

image

image

As usual, The Limpet also had to join in with the fun. She found the activity very easy until she got to the hole which I had accidentally cut smaller than the bottle top!

image

2 Responses to “Bottle top posting”

  1. eleniantoniou May 6, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    love the simplicity!

  2. Cerys (@rainydaymum) May 6, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    What a great activity and YEAH to phone saving activities (my newest one hasn’t survived the stone age one that went down at the same time is going strong when my son did it at 18 months old).

    Thank you for linking up to Tuesday Tots this week

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers