Garden xylophone

16 May

This little project came about as we had been given two xylophones and I decided no-one needed two xylophones. One was particularly ugly and plastic so I thought that one could be taken apart and made into something prettier.

image

Last summer my husband made the kids the best playhouse ever and I wanted to add some special items to it including an outdoor xylophone. We took all the metal pieces off the plastic and with the help of the little monsters, strung them onto some heavy duty plastic rope.

image

We then attached the new garden xylophone under the slide and balcony.

image

image

You can just see its bright colours peeping out from under the slide. The amazing playhouse was designed and built completely by my husband.

image

Here’s The Limpet using a stick to make some beautiful music.

8 Responses to “Garden xylophone”

  1. elsie May 16, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    what a clever idea. Your husband has built a great playhouse, I am so jealous nevermind my daughter

  2. eleniantoniou May 17, 2012 at 6:08 am #

    OMG! Such a cute little house!

  3. Cerys @ Rainy Day Mum May 21, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    This is amazing – I was wondering how to get more sound experiences into the garden and I have 3 xylophones with 2 toddlers I need at least 2 to solve the problems that can arise.

    Thank you for linking up to Tuesday Tots PS. Love the playhouse as well

  4. Ness @ One Perfect Day May 23, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    This is a lovely idea. Thanks for linking up to the Weekly Kid’s o-op. I’ve shared this on our Facebook wall. 🙂

  5. the monko May 23, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    What a wonderful idea. Wind chimes drive me a bit nuts but I could cope with something that only chimed when hit. Might have to find myself a second hand xylophone. Thanks for the great idea

  6. timelessadventures June 8, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    What a wonderful idea! This is a must do project for my girls’ playhouse! Looks like I’ll be hitting garage sales for a xylophone. Thank you for sharing (:

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 in review « entertaining monsters - January 3, 2013

    […] Garden xylophone […]

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers

