Birthday calendar wheel

14 Jun

It’s birthday season in our house at the moment so The Limpet is currently obsessed with listing who has already had their birthday.

Her little brother (The Gannet) starts the celebrations off in April, then my birthday was in May and Mr Monster’s is in July shortly followed by The Limpet so unfortunately for her, she has to wait the longest.

image

In order to help her understand about the months of the year and when her birthday will be, I devised a birthday wheel. I had intended to add some other details about events that happen throughout the year but it didn’t really have enough space after we’d stuck on the photos.

We did add a season wheel to the centre and she decorated it with appropriate colours and collage items. We discussed the different season as she was doing this.

image

image

The larger circle was divided into 12 sections, one for each month. We stuck photos of family members onto their birthday months. The wheel was then put together and attached to a piece of card with a split pin so that it could spin round. I added an arrow to the top which is stuck on one end to the backing card so that it always points to the correct month.

2 Responses to “Birthday calendar wheel”

  1. April June 16, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    What a wonderful idea! I think I need to make one of these to help me remember all the birthdays in the family, what a great project for children to learn the months and seasons as well as family birthdays. Love it!

  2. Jennifer June 18, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    I just found your blog and I love it 🙂 This is a great idea, funnily enough I am just sorting through all our family birthdays and making sure that I’ve got them all written down, I should make something like this!

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers

