Farm play mat

25 Aug

Now that I’ve finally learnt to sew, I thought I should put my new skills to use.

We bought The Limpet for her birthday some farm animals but she doesn’t have a farm house or barn or anything like that. So after searching through Pinterest, I decided to make a farm play mat.

I’d like to say that I used lots of scraps of fabric that I had lying around but as I’m new to this sewing malarkey I don’t have many scraps. So off I went to my local haberdashery to buy lots of fabric in various textures, colours and patterns.

I planned out a rough design and then got to work cutting bits up and sewing the whole thing together.

image

image

I wanted to make it as appealing as possible so I added lots of different textures. I used mainly cotton fabric but also included a heavy wool, corduroy, felt, ribbon and wool.

image

image

I wanted to inspire the monsters imagination and creativity so I didn’t make anything too obvious apart from the pond.

It was only finished last night but so far it has gone down very well. Here is a picture of The Limpet enjoying playing with it.

image

10 Responses to “Farm play mat”

  1. Jennifer August 26, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    That is gorgeous, I love all the different textures!

  2. knittymummy August 27, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Looks great, I had a plan to do something similar but never quite got round to it. Do you know there is a SW parent bloggers facebook group. We have little meet ups

  3. Big Mamma Frog September 3, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Looks fab. Wish mine were a bit younger so I could make something like this for them πŸ˜‰

  4. Rachel @ Once Upon a Sewing Machine September 5, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    Really neat. My little guy would like “to play those!” lol I like all the textures.

  5. Tracey September 6, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    WOW for being new to sewing that came out great! Thanks for sharing on the We Made That Linky!

  6. Kelly September 10, 2012 at 5:46 am #

    What a great idea to sew a farm like this! Bet the kids love it πŸ™‚

    • entertainingmonsters September 10, 2012 at 6:17 am #

      Thank you. My daughter now uses it as a garden, park, trampoline, zoo….. I love her use of imagination at the moment.

  7. Davina September 13, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    My goodness. I love this playmat. I just pinned it. SO excited I have found your blog…it is amazing!

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers

