Worldwide culture swap

1 Sep

image

image

Whilst reading through other patenting blogs I discovered a link to the worldwide culture swap. I immediately signed up for it.

After signing up you get linked up with 4 families from around the world. We got families from Australia, South Africa, Ohio USA and California USA.

It’s a fabulous way to learn about other countries and their traditions directly from the families themselves. And let’s face it – everyone loves receiving parcels in the post. But actually, its just as fun to give as to receive.

As the monsters are quite young they couldn’t really help me with ideas but I used the experience to teach them about our own culture and history.

I had great fun putting together our 4 packages. I included postcards and leaflets from our town and county; a colouring in book of native animals; a Paddington Bear visits Buckingham Palace book; London stickers; a toy London bus and a stick of rock. I also put in some maps and facts about our country and details about traditional food and famous people. And finally some family photos and details about ourselves and our house.

5 Responses to “Worldwide culture swap”

  1. alldonemonkey September 2, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    What a great experience for your kids! Thanks for sharing at the Culture Swapper!

  2. Hannah @ Making Boys Men September 6, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Hi, I’m just stopping over from Making Boys Men where I’ve just nominated your awesome blog for the Liebster Award (my post goes live Fri 7th) – Congratulations!

  3. agujasblog September 9, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    What a great idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Australian parcel swap and artwork « entertaining monsters - September 12, 2012

    […] first parcel has arrived as part of the worldwide culture swap that we’ve taken part in. It has come all the way across the world from the Australian […]

Please leave a comment, I love hearing from my readers

